Agility Kata “CSV Viewer IV”

The CSV viewer shall now display huge CSV files, e.g. 3 times the amount of GB of your computer's memory. Yes, the CSV viewer should be able to handle billions of records, or at least many more records than would fit in memory.

Nevertheless, the first page should be displayed immediately when the application is started. Of course, the maximum number of pages cannot yet be determined then. As long as [1] this is the case, simply put a "?" after the number of pages:

No.|Name |Age|City    |
---+-----+---+--------+
1. |Peter|42 |New York|
2. |Paul |57 |London  |
3. |Mary |35 |Munich  |
Page 1 of 3?
F)irst page, P)revious page, N)ext page, L)ast page, J)ump to page, S)ort, E)xit

Sorting the data shall of course still be possible. Not a simple task with huge amounts of data, but solvable 😉.


[1] This implies that background processing is taking place. The file must be processed further after the first page is displayed, because the user wants to know the exact number of pages and jump immediately to any page (which has already been processed). In terms of usability, waiting until the user has entered a page number to jump to before starting to read from the file is not an option.

en_USEnglish

Agility Kata “CSV Viewer IV”

Der CSV-Viewer soll nun riesige CSV-Dateien anzeigen, bspw. die 3-fache Menge an GB des Arbeitsspeichers Ihres Computers. Ja, der CSV-Viewer sollte in der Lage sein, Milliarden von Datensätzen zu verarbeiten, oder zumindest viel mehr Datensätze, als in den Speicher passen würden.

Dennoch sollte beim Start der Anwendung sofort die erste Seite angezeigt werden. Aber die maximale Seitenzahl kann dann natürlich noch nicht ermittelt werden. Solange [1] dies der Fall ist, geben Sie hinter der Anzahl der Seiten einfach ein „?“ aus:

No.|Name |Age|City    |
---+-----+---+--------+
1. |Peter|42 |New York|
2. |Paul |57 |London  |
3. |Mary |35 |Munich  |
Page 1 of 3?
F)irst page, P)revious page, N)ext page, L)ast page, J)ump to page, S)ort, E)xit

Das Sortieren der Daten soll natürlich auch jetzt noch möglich sein. Bei riesigen Datenmengen keine einfache Aufgabe, aber lösbar 😉


[1] Dies impliziert, dass eine Hintergrundverarbeitung stattfindet. Die Datei muss nach Anzeige der ersten Seite weiterverarbeitet werden, da der Benutzer die genaue Anzahl der Seiten wissen möchte und sofort zu einer beliebigen Seite (die bereits verarbeitet wurde) springen möchte. Im Hinblick auf eine hohe Benutzerfreundlichkeit ist es keine Option, erst mit dem Lesen aus der Datei zu beginnen, wenn der Benutzer eine Seitennummer eingegeben hat, zu der er springen kann.

de_DEGerman